Top 5 Memorable Memorial Day Poems – #2

Memorial Day Commemoration 2008

Memorial Day is a day of remembrance. It’s important to take a few moments of the day to be still, remember and give thanks to those who made the ultimate sacrifice. Leading up to Memorial Day this Monday, I’m sharing my Top 5 Memorable Memorial Day poems. Here is Number 2 by Mary Frye:

Do Not Stand At My Grave And Weep 

Do not stand at my grave and weep,

I am not there, I do not sleep.

I am in a thousand winds that blow;

I am the softly falling snow.

 

I am the gentle showers of rain;

I am the fields of ripening grain.

I am in the morning hush;

I am in the graceful rush.

 

Of beautiful birds in circling flight,

I am the starshine of the night.

I am in the flowers that bloom,

I am in a quiet room.

 

I am the birds that sing,

I am in each lovely thing.

Do not stand at my grave and cry,

I am not there. I do not die.

Leave a Reply

