Top 5 Memorable Memorial Day Poems – #4

Memorial Day Commemoration 2008

How do you plan to spend your Memorial Day? Are you going to visit loved ones in the cemetery? I hope to see you there.

For Memorial Day, I’m sharing my Top Five Memorable MemoriaDay Poems.  #5 was ‘Memorial Day’ by C. W. Johnson and here is #4 by Mrs. Lyman Hancock:

When I’m Gone

When I come to the end of my journey
And I travel my last weary mile,
Just forget if you can, that I ever frowned
And remember only the smile.
Forget unkind words I have spoken;
Remember some good I have done.
Forget that I ever had heartache
And remember I’ve had loads of fun.
Forget that I’ve stumbled and blundered
And sometimes fell by the way.
Remember I have fought some hard battles
And won, ere the close of the day.
Then forget to grieve for my going,
I would not have you sad for a day,
But in summer just gather some flowers
And remember the place where I lay,
And come in the shade of evening
When the sun paints the sky in the west
Stand for a few moments beside me
And remember only my best.
One comment on “Top 5 Memorable Memorial Day Poems – #4

  1. […] Top 5 Memorable Memorial Day Poems – #4 (gravewords.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

