Top 5 Memorable Memorial Day Poems – #5

English: Picture of graves decorated with flag...

Memorial Day will be celebrated this Monday (May 28, 2012). It’s a busy time for me and I plan to post pictures of the cemeteries I visit, so be sure to revisit the blog next week. For now, I’d like to share some memorable Memorial Day poems. The first is by C. W. Johnson:

Memorial Day

We walked among the crosses
Where our fallen soldiers lay.
And listened to the bugle
As TAPS began to play.
The Chaplin led a prayer
We stood with heads bowed low.
And I thought of fallen comrades
I had known so long ago.
They came from every city
Across this fertile land.
That we might live in freedom.
They lie here ‘neath the sand.
I felt a little guilty
My sacrifice was small.
I only lost a little time
But these men lost their all.
Now the services are over
For this Memorial Day.
To the names upon these crosses
I just want to say,
Thanks for what you’ve given
No one could ask for more.
May you rest with God in heaven
From now through evermore.
3 comments on “Top 5 Memorable Memorial Day Poems – #5

  1. […] Top 5 Memorable Memorial Day Poems – #5 (gravewords.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Top 5 Memorable Memorial Day Poems – #5 (gravewords.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Memorial Day says:

    […] Top 5 Memorable Memorial Day Poems – #5 (gravewords.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

