Mother. RIP.

Mother's Day card

Mother’s Day is tomorrow (May 13) so to all the mothers I know (and those I don’t know) – enjoy your day!

And for those of us who have lost our mothers, the day can be bittersweet. I always think of my Mummy on this day. I think of how much she gave me and of how much she gave up for me. I really didn’t understand her sacrifices until I had my son…that’s when I truly understood what it means to be a mother. So tomorrow will be a happy, yet poignant day for me.

There’s a poem by Rumi that gave me comfort when my mother passed. I’ll share it with you and maybe you can share it with your mother tomorrow.

The Guest House

This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
as an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!
Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,
Who violently sweep your house
Empty of its furniture,
Still treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out
For some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice,
meet them at the door laughing
And invite them in.

Be grateful for whoever comes,
Because each has been sent
As a guide from beyond.

3 comments on “Mother. RIP.

  1. […] Mother. RIP. (gravewords.wordpress.com) […]

  2. eof737 says:

    Thank you for sharing this and reminding us to celebrate all moms including those who have passed on. Sending hugs your way and Happy Mother’s Day!

  3. […] Mother. RIP. (gravewords.wordpress.com) Share this:PrintStumbleUponDiggEmailTwitterFacebookPrint & PDFPrint & PDFLinkedInPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Family, Humor, Uncategorized and tagged Family, humor, learning, living, Mother. Bookmark the permalink. ← Mother’s Day 2012 […]

Leave a Reply

