Game On.

 

No, I’m not jumping on the Rick Santorum band wagon – but I am using his words to describe my attitude towards 2012. A new year is upon us and it comes with exciting anticipation of good things to come. It also brings with it the feeling of more of the same…you know – been there, lived that. But it is only Day 4 of 2012 so I shall strive not to let my cynicism jade the good vibes of the year. 2012 already has more newness and shine than 2011 so how bad can it be?

I didn’t make any resolutions this year. Actually, I gave up the bad habit of making New Year’s resolutions about three years ago because I realized it was just a set up for failure. I found that it was pointless to resolve myself to life-changing behaviors in the drunken haze of a New Year’s Eve early morning only to give up on those life-changing behaviors a month later. OK, who am I kidding – a week later. Anyway, to all those who did make New Year’s resolutions for 2012, I wish you the best. Game on.

Instead of making resolutions I now engage in positive thinking sessions. Basically I just think of all the things that I want in 2012 and brainstorm on how I can make them happen. I will tackle each desire one step at a time, taking it slow and not giving up. I will push through the obstacles with tenacity and determination. There may be setbacks every now and then but I will stare them down. Game on.

This idea of consistent positive thinking is a radical change from my prior last-minute New Year’s Eve resolution-making activities…and I really think it has to do with how much I’ve had to drink on said New Year’s Eve. This year I was fairly sober so I’m sure that will bode well for my future. Also I watched a lot of Oprah during the holidays so that probably had something to do with it. I like Oprah.

Game on.

Did you make any New Year’s Resolutions?

Leave a Reply

