The Cold Monster Is Coming.

Winter day

The Cold Monster's frigid path.

Summer is over. Well, its been officially over for a while now but it really only hit me today because it’s 52 degrees outside and it’s rainy, windy and cold. I only recognize two seasons – Summer and Winter. So if it’s not hot, it’s Winter. And if it’s not cold, it’s Summer. Therefore, today marks the end of Summer and the beginning of Winter. It’s a sad day.

I know all the rabid fans of Fall and Spring will rush to defend these seasons. Yes, Fall is pretty, the leaves change colors, bla bla bla. Yes, Spring signifies renewal, growth, change, bla bla bla. I don’t care. It’s either hot or it’s not.

I don’t have to explain why I’m not a fan of Winter. When I say the Cold Monster is coming, I really believe it. Just think about it – the trees look naked and barren, the sky is a moody gray 99% of the time and the wind…oh, the wind. It gleefully nips at any exposed skin and tries to chill you to the bone. What kind of monster does this kind of thing? The Cold Monster. Winter.

Some people like Winter. For example, skiers, ice fishermen and people who live in Alaska. I pray for these people. I pray that the Cold Monster doesn’t get them. Legend has it that every 6 years, the Cold Monster gets really hungry and unleashes a wintrous (I just made that word up) fury on any poor soul that ventures outside. So beware, people. The Cold Monster is coming.

 

Leave a Reply

