Gravetender at the Movies: Black Swan

Black Swan v2 poster

I finally got around to watching ‘Black Swan’ the other night. I’d been procrastinating about seeing it since I could tell from the trailer it was a ballet movie and I haven’t been in the mood for ballet lately. But there wasn’t anything else worth watching on cable and I had some free time so I pressed play. And I remember thinking that maybe my 10-year-old niece might enjoy this ballet movie….good thing I didn’t call and invite her over!

Black Swan is NOT a ballet movie! I mean, it is…but then it isn’t. Natalie Portman plays Nina, a beautiful ballerina who always strives for perfection. Her boss, Thomas (played by Vincent Cassel) selects her to dance the main role in Swan Lake, which means Nina has to embody the different personalities of the White Swan (innocent, ethereal) and the Black Swan (sensual, cunning). Nina can dance the White Swan in her sleep, but the Black Swan…not so much. Mila Kunis plays Lily, a new dancer who dances the Black Swan with ease, and who Nina sees as competition.

As the movie progresses, we learn that Nina has serious psychological issues (plus she’s 28 and still lives with her mother, which is enough to drive any ballerina crazy). Mila Kunis gives a strong performance and, in my humble opinion, steals the show. But Natalie Portman did win the Oscar and the Golden Globe for Best Actress for ‘Black Swan’, so clearly others do not share my opinion about Mila Kunis. Oh well.

It’s a good movie and I highly recommend it. Not for a 10-year-old though. ‘Black Swan’ is rated R, which means…I have no idea (does anyone really know what movie ratings really mean??) but I know it’s not for a 10-year-old.

Did you watch ‘Black Swan?’ Do you think Mila Kunis stole the show?

2 comments on “Gravetender at the Movies: Black Swan

  1. […] Gravetender at the Movies: Black Swan (gravewords.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. […] Gravetender at the Movies: Black Swan (gravewords.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

